Welcome to my blog!

I’m Matt, a forty-something dad of girls, based in the UK Midlands (Derbyshire).  Before this I was born in Liverpool, then I lived in the north west, the north east, Paris, London, Sydney, and London again.  But then I got married, and was forced (in a good way) to settle down.

I look older than I actually am, because my hair has turned prematurely grey.  This is possibly a result of having daughters – I have two – aged 4 and 7 at the time of writing (it’s 2017) – plus my first daughter, who died in 2015 at Rainbows Children’s Hospice.

The experience of having a severely disabled child changed me completely – for the better, I think.  I now do quite a bit of charity work, where I used to do none.  I’m a school governor, a trustee of two charities, a volunteer for two more, and an ambassador / fundraiser for Rainbows.

I’ve worked in a few jobs over the years, including: barman, care home worker, babysitter, music teacher, curtain maker, piano player, accountant, recruiter, and writer.

I’ve had 2 total hip replacements – in 2016 and 2017 – and I’m thoroughly enjoying once again being able to walk, tie my shoelaces, do the splits etc.

I’m passionate about music, travel, walking and cycling.  And my family, obviously!

I love to write, and I’m halfway through several novels.  One day I’ll finish at least one of these, but in the meantime this blog is a place for me to talk about my experiences of fatherhood, travel, health, school, food, travel, reviews of stuff, etc.

Let me know if you want me to write about anything in particular!  Contact me here.